Skip to product information
1 of 1

Security Operations Group

Oregon Department of Public Safety and Standards Training (DPSST): Unarmed Private Security Class

Oregon Department of Public Safety and Standards Training (DPSST): Unarmed Private Security Class

Regular price $250.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $250.00 USD
Sale Sold out

$250.00 - 14 hours (2 days) of classroom instruction

The Oregon DPSST Unarmed Security Certification is a 14-hour class taught in person over two 7-hour days. Certification is good for 2 years upon DPSST acceptance. 

Additional information about Oregon’s requirements and pre-requisites can be found at:

 Regulatory Laws Pertinent to Private Security
 Common Crimes Encountered by Security Provider
 Standards for Unarmed Private Security Provider
 Introduction to Criminal and Civil Law
 Search and Seizure
 Person Crimes
 Courtroom Procedures/Testify
 Report Writing
 Communication
 Patrol Practices
 Emergency Services/911
 Scene Management
 Safety Reporting & Fire Detection
 Medical Emergencies

Once course curriculum is completed, students are required to score at least 85% on a closed book, 50 question, multiple-choice test.


Upon completion, each student will be provided all required documents for submission to Oregon DPSST Private Security Division. Each student must submit their application packet within 180 days of the completion of the course.

The packet must include:
 PS-1 Application for Licensure or Certification of Private Security Services Provider
 A completed FD-258 Fingerprint Card. (Blueprint link)
 The original Form PS-6 (Affidavit of Instructor and Private Security Provider Testing
Results) documenting completion of the training.
 If currently employed, a completed Form PS-20 (Private Security Services Provider
Temporary Work Permit).
 PS-27 Code of Ethics
 Nonrefundable state license fee of $106.25 (Includes background check fee).  THIS FEE IS SEPARATE FROM THE CLASS FEE AND MUST BE PAID DIRECTLY TO OREGON

Payment made out to “DPSST” can be made by Money Order, DPSST Credit Card
Form, Cashier’s Check, or Business Check. Authorization to work as a Private Security Professional is not complete until an application has been submitted and the applicant either has their PSID card in hand and are listed with a company or have received a PS-20 (temporary work permit) from the listed company and a copy has been submitted to Oregon DPSST.
Individuals certified as a Private Security Professional can renew their certification 180 days prior to their certification expiring through the DPSST 4-hour renewal course offered by SOG.

Payment for the course is required in advance upon signing up at:,
the following forms of payment are accepted.
 Credit Card/Debit card

-Valid form of government issued Photo ID
-Lunch, snacks, and drinks

View full details